My first blog

I’ve finally set up my blog.  At the moment, I’m presenting myself with a series of challenges and writing a weekly blog entry is one of them.  I figured that by posting them somewhere, I’ll be inspired (or forced) to actually carry them out.  There’s nothing like telling someone you’re going to do something, to make you do it.  So what are the others?

  • Reading journal: I’ve recently joined two reading groups – one online and one face-to-face.  Many years ago, a lecturer told us we should keep a reading journal.  I tried it (successfully) for one book but didn’t continue so I thought it would be a good time to resurrect it.  The interesting thing is I think I have little to say but once I start writing, the ideas keep coming and I get a lot more out of the book. 
  • Declutter: I’m a firm believer that external clutter leads to internal clutter and is emotionally and mentally draining.  Hence, I’ve started a declutter programme.  However, my husband’s a hoarder who notices when something disappears, even if it hasn’t been used for years.  Now I’ve got to the point where I can’t stand it any longer, a very liberating feeling because you know things will be achieved.   My daughter suggested I go ahead and throw out regardless, saying he’d moan for half an hour and then forget about it.  I’ll hold her responsible for the consequences. 
  • Race for Life: I’ve entered for a 5k Race for Life.  This is something momentous for me as I’ve never liked running – I didn’t even do it at school.  I’m a couple of months into the training and can now do about 4k.  I consider this a real achievement as when I first started, I couldn’t even run for 30 seconds.  I think it proves that if you put your mind to something, you can make progress and surprise yourself.  We all need to try things that we’ve previously discounted.  Amazingly, I now enjoy running!

Well, that’s enough to be getting on with this week.

This entry was posted in Living. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My first blog

  1. lauras50by50 says:

    Wow, I wished I’d found your blog ages ago. I’m looking forward to reading your posts for inspiration on my own journey.

Leave a Reply

