Read in February

I haven’t read as much this month.  I don’t know why – everything just seemed to take so much longer than usual and I’ve also been busy with lots of other things.  However, what I lacked in quantity, I made up for in quality.

The Coroner’s Lunch – Colin Cotterill (2.5/5)

The 72-year-old coroner has to investigate a series of unexplained deaths, aided by his two unconventional assistants and some special powers.  Although I enjoyed this, I found it unexceptional.

The Long Song – Andrea Levy (4/5)

Miss July is chosen by her plantation master’s sister to be her maid.  I wasn’t expecting to enjoy this.  However, the beautiful writing seduced me and the subversive nature of Miss July gave a satisfying slant to events. 

Room – Emma Donoghue (4/5)

Jack and Ma are held captive in a room.  I found this a disturbing, yet sympathetic novel, which offers new insights on how people can survive in an unthinkable situation. 

The Lessons – Naomi Alderman (4/5)

This is a story of a group of Oxford undergraduates and Mark, who seems to have a strange hold over them.  I found it an enjoyable read. 

The Albanians – Alexander McCall Smith (4/5)

This short story is based on Mozart’s Cosi Fan Tutti and tells of how Hugh tests his girlfriend’s faithfulness.  I found this very clever and well crafted.

This entry was posted in Book ends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

