Spring at last!

Today I visited my allotment for the first time since October, dreading what I would see. I hadn’t intended to leave it that long but first I was really busy at work, then it snowed, then it snowed again, then it rained and the clay soil would be undiggable, then I was busy again… So long has it been that I couldn’t even remember how I left it or what my plans were.

So it was a pleasant surprise to see that although there were quite a few weeds growing in the previously cleared ground, it certainly wasn’t as bad as it could have been. I was impressed to see that I had managed to clear everything and had done a lot of digging prior to the winter, and the huge pile of weeds, twigs, brambles, etc, had rotted down quite well. Having said that, I’m very aware that I need to start work as soon as possible to ensure that it doesn’t end up an overgrown piece of wasteland again. I’ve spent so much time clearing it over the past few years that I equate having an allotment to clearing weeds rather than producing vegetables. What I need is an action plan, so here goes.

• Buy some weed control fabric – after all, it’s pointless clearing it, and clearing it again, and clearing it again.

• Spray the more determined weeds – against my organic principles but how else am I going to get rid of the (what I think is) wild horseradish?

• Clear the weeds that have grown, then cover the ground until planting.

• Strim the grass.

• Plan what to plant and where, sewing from seed as far as possible.

So, that’s where I need to start. All I need to do now is find the time and I’m hoping that recording my progress here will inspire me to work hard and get it to look like it does in my dreams.

This entry was posted in Allotment year. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

