It’s the little things that count

It’s a funny world, complicated by money, which kind of gets in the way of the really important things in life.  It’s interesting that often the little acts and expressions of kindness, which we think no further about, can have a profound effect on the people around us.  Several incidents recently have brought this home to me. 

Firstly, a person who’s had and is still having a very difficult time made a special visit to me to tell me that she’s really appreciated the support I’ve given her and has found it extremely helpful.  I don’t feel I’ve done anything for her, just offered a few words of understanding which have cost me nothing, yet obviously to her have made all the difference.  Another friend also commented yesterday on how touched she was by an offer of help I made to her a few months ago should things ever get tough and she needs it.  Again, it seems like nothing to me and yet it means a lot to her. 

When my father died, the same friend said she would be unable to make it to the funeral and that was fine by me.  I completely understood and hadn’t expected her to attend, thinking no more of it.  However, when I arrived at the chapel and saw her face in the crowd, I was really moved by this gesture of love and support, which was a tremendous comfort to me and meant so much. 

When we’re going through difficult times, or even when things are going well, it’s so important to know that there are people around us who really show that they care about us.  Small expressions of friendship and kindness cost nothing but have so much value.  In this money-driven world, we must never underestimate or forget that the thing that really counts is priceless: reaching out to, sharing with and caring for others.

This entry was posted in Life thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

