The only way is up

Having indulged in experience number 1 on my 50@50 list, I decided it was time to turn my attention to number 2: climb a rock face.  This seemed like a good idea when I was compiling the list, but where can I find a rock face in suburbia, let alone climb it!  By the way, did I mention I suffer from a bit of vertigo?

By chance, I found an indoor climbing centre in London.  Problem solved.  Then I did a bit more searching and found one only five miles from where I live.  Even better.

I gave them a call and booked an introductory session for myself and my sister for next week.  If they were horrified when I gave my date of birth, they very tactfully did not show it – but I bet they’re drawing lots on who gets the short straw on that one! 

I’m really looking forward to it.  I’m curious to see what it feels like and how I will cope.  It’s a new experience and a challenge and that’s what life is all about. 

My sister says she’s strangely excited as well, although she did then ask hesistatingly what number 3 on the list is.  You should have seen the look on her face when I told her!

This entry was posted in Fun at 50 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

