Things I thought I’d never say

Participant 180x180 (2)

I’m writing a novel in 30 days.

I’ve thought about doing NaNoWriMo before but it just seemed such a crazy idea.  How can anyone, but especially me, expect to write a novel in a month?  I’ve had an idea bubbling away for about a year now and I’ve been waiting for the right time to start writing but let’s face it, it’s never the right time.  There’s always this or that or the other to be getting on with instead.  So, throwing caution to the wind, I’ve signed up to do it.

I’m scared, very scared.  Two thousands words a day, every day, for thirty days.

But more than scared, I’m curious.  Can I do it?  What will it feel like?  What will happen?  What will I learn?

I try not to let fear stop me doing anything.  For me, doing so is taking the path to regret.  So crazy or not, here goes.  I’m telling you about it: I’m accountable.

What is fear stopping you from doing?

 

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Things I thought I’d never say

  1. I’m jealous – it sounds amazing! I’d love to write a book – I just lack an idea. Or any time… Good luck!

    • seaswift says:

      Sample ‘No Plot No Problem’ by the guy who started NaNoWriMo – apparently the ideas come! On the question of time, well…. That’s my biggest fear when undertaking this. I’d recommend a new take on time management ‘Get Everything Done and Still Have Time to Play’. For the first time in my life, my paperwork and housework are up-to-date! Two inspiring post-op reads – good luck next week.

Leave a Reply

