50@50 review – numbers 1-10

Aurelia the camel

Aurelia the camel

As I’ve just had another birthday, I thought it would be an opportune moment to review my 50@50 list to find out how it was coming along.  Here is an update of numbers 1 to 10.

1.  Tea at the Ritz – My lovely friend took me as a birthday treat.  It was a great experience and a really special thing to do.

2.  Climb a rock face – I didn’t do this outside but instead I had a go at indoor climbing.  It was strenuous, challenging and deceptively difficult.  I intended to go again but so far haven’t got round to it.

3.  Sing karaoke – I have neither plucked up the courage nor found somewhere to do it yet but there’s always next year.

4.  Meet an animal at the zoo – I haven’t been to the zoo this year but I did have a camel ride in Gran Canaria.  Our camel was called Aurelia and I got quite fond of her in a short space of time even though she wanted to break out of the camel train.  Well, I always admire independence in a woman.

5.  Learn a new dance – For me, 2012 has been the year of dance and I’ve learnt thirteen, yes thirteen, new dances!  Waltz, foxtrot, quickstep, tango, cha cha cha, rumba, samba, paso doble, jive, salsa, Argentine tango, line dancing and modern jive.  Dancing lifts your spirits.  It also improves your fitness without you realising.  Not only does it provide exercise whilst feeling like fun but you’re not sitting at home in the evening, drinking tea and eating biscuits, cakes, chocolates and crisps!

6.  Volunteer – I didn’t do this in the traditional sense but I did set up and run a reading group for people learning English, edit a magazine showcasing their writing and work between ten and fifteen unpaid hours every week.

7.  Treat a friend to something special – I treated my close friend, her husband and my hubby to a mini-cruise break.  We had a great time.  The first port of call was Zeebrugge and from there we headed off to Bruges.  The second stop was supposed to be Guernsey but the sea had too big a swell to launch the tenders so we bobbed around in the Channel taking full advantage of the ship’s facilities.

8.  Enter a short story or poetry competition – I entered a story writing competition in  a magazine.  I didn’t win, but then you don’t expect to, although I aways think of my sister, who came runner-up in the first story competition she entered, in a national Sunday newspaper no less, so there’s always hope.

9.  Overcome a fear – For about a year, I had an idea for a novel but the thought of sitting down and actually writing it was daunting and the commitment required was frightening.  I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to do it and my dreams would die.  However, in November, with much trepidation I took the plunge and participated in NaNoWriMo.  I now have a 50,000 word completed first draft of my novel.

10.  Win a competition – I haven’t really entered any competitions, except for the short story above, but there is a weekly raffle at the dance studio that I’ve won three times.

Well, that’s number one to ten.  Numbers eleven to twenty will be coming soon.

What was number one on your list this year and did you do it?

This entry was posted in Fun at 50 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 50@50 review – numbers 1-10

  1. I wanted to start learning a language this year. Bought an online course in Afrikaans…haven’t got very far with it as yet!
    Also climbing is great fun. If you like that and you ever get a chance you could try gorge scrambling in the lake distract…following a river down its course but its almost like a natural water slide…and jumping over waterfalls and such. Its my mission to do that again!

  2. Just catching up with my blog reading. Happy Birthday for earlier in the month Sandra 🙂

Leave a Reply

