Job search: the first steps

Small steps

Small steps

There comes a time when you wake up and realise that the path you are on is not the one that you should be taking so yesterday, after months of careful consideration, I quit my job.

Today is the first day of my new job search. I’m going to use this blog to record my journey as I know that this kind of accountability will help to keep me motivated and on track. I will also share my experiences, the successes and not so successful outcomes (I don’t like the word ‘failures’ – nothing is a failure if you can learn something from it). Hopefully, some of this will be useful for others.

I’m a firm believer in the importance of taking one step each day as it keeps the momentum going and moves you forward. With this in mind, today I registered for a CV Clinic that takes place in January. My career history involves a break to have children, during which time I studied for a degree, followed by a career change. Consequently, my CV looks like two people’s careers welded together and I realise that this could be confusing and off-putting to prospective employers. I’ve seen it suggested that when you’re in this situation, you should write your CV according to skill areas rather than as a chronological sequence of positions held. I’m going to spend the next few days experimenting with this so that I can use the clinic to improve on my result. It feels like a really positive move forward.

What small step are you going to take today to move you closer to achieving your goal?

This entry was posted in Job search and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Job search: the first steps

  1. Congratulations on your decision and what an encouragement for others. There must be so many people on the wrong path, but they don’t know how to get onto the right one. My small steps (as you know) are doing the few minutes a day on my book. Today I spent 5 minutes or so transferring the file to my new laptop ready for me to start the process of editing. Tomorrow I will plan how I am going to attack this. But as you say, it’s the small steps that help – thank you. Good luck with the CV clinic.

Leave a Reply

