50@50 review: numbers 11-20

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERAHere is my review of the second section of my 50@50 list.

Write 50 blog posts – Including this one, I’ve managed to write 64 posts in 2012.

Read 50 books – Earlier this week, I posted my list of the 52 books I read.

Make 12 theatre visits – The 13 shows I’ve seen this year are:

  • January – Swallows and Amazons (based on the book by Arthur Ransome)
  • February – The Pitmen Painters (by Lee Hall)
  • March – One Man Two Guvnors (by Richard Bean)
  • April – Billy Elliot (by Lee Hall)
  • April – She Stoops to Conquer (by Oliver Goldsmith)
  • May – Here (by Michael Frayn)
  • May – The Cherry Orchard (by Anton Chekhov)
  • May – What the Butler Saw (by Joe Orton)
  • June – Abigail’s Party (by Mike Leigh)
  • October – Blood Brothers (by Willy Russell)
  • October – The Second Mrs Tanqueray (by Arthur W Pinero)
  • October – Michael Palin in conversation
  • December – Aladdin

Go to the Globe Theatre – I’ve never been, yet it’s almost on my doorstep.  I can’t understand why this is the case.  Put it on the 2013 list.

Visit the Tate Modern – I’ve been many times in the past but not for a few years now.  It’s next to the Globe, it’s free – what’s stopping me?  I remember taking the girls when they were a lot younger.  I recall one installation where a hologram face was speaking out from under a sofa and my elder daughter, who was probably about four years old, prostrated herself on the floor and said something like “What are you talking about, lady?”.  I also remember, with much shame, my younger daughter somehow getting over a barrier and touching a Picasso.  In weak defence, at least they were inspired to interact with the art and surely one of the purposes of art is to move us to respond.  I also remember taking advantage of the children’s activities.  We followed a trail to find information in different exhibits and, best of all, borrowed an art box.  We did this on several occasions and would sit on the floor by the window looking out over the Thames to St Pauls and create images of what we saw.  I wonder if they still have this art box and whether a child is essential to secure its use!

Have a spa day – My sister was given a spa day for two as a thank you and invited me along.  We had a real treat of a facial and hot stone massage.  The only drawback was that it was out the other side of London in Romford.  I’d never been over there before but found myself passing through the following month on my way to A&E in Chelmsford where my daughter had been taken after falling poorly with a suspected appendicitis at a music festival.  Fortunately, it was a false alarm.  Incidentally, camping at a music festival didn’t look as horrific as I imagined.  Perhaps I’ll add it to my 2013 list.

Run 50k – Once I’d joined the running club, I managed to clock up 124.25k, but at the expense of:

Cycle 100k – I only managed 25k.

Swim across the Channel (34k) – I worked out this was 1,360 lengths of the pool and by April I had 1,090 left to go.  However, for some inexplicable reason, I haven’t been swimming since.

Row across the Channel – 3k completed.  I was too busy running.

A review of the next ten will follow.

This entry was posted in DP Challenge, Fun at 50 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 50@50 review: numbers 11-20

  1. FabCraftMI says:

    Thank you for following me! I just read this post and I think it’s fantastic! I have a jumbled list in my head of random things I mean to achieve in the future, but I think I will have to steal this idea and give myself a set of achievable goals for 2013. Congratulations on meeting so many of your goals!

Leave a Reply

