What I’ve learnt so far

Richmond Park

Richmond Park

Part of my plan this year to to make a conscious effort to learn something every day.  Here are the things I’ve learnt so far.

Jan 1st: I’m reading The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg.  When thinking about the cue-routine-reward cycle of habits, I realised that crossing an item off my to do list gives me a feeling of satisfaction and accomplishment, in other words, this is my reward.

Jan 2nd: Queen Victoria had a number of children and was a very controlling mother even when they became adults.  Despite this, one of her daughters managed to attend art school to study sculpture, something that was frowned upon.  She sculpted her mother and the work is, I believe, still standing in London near Kensington Palace.

Jan 3rd: This date is the most popular day for women to file for divorce.  I suppose it’s the combination of a stressful holiday season, coupled with a resolve to start afresh in the New Year.

Jan 4th: I’m spending too much time browsing the internet gathering ideas.  Although it’s inspiring, the irony is that it subtracts from the time I could spend carrying out the ideas.  It creates an illusion of busyness without being productive (but it is fun).

Jan 5th: My girls might be teenagers but when I said I was planning on going for a walk in Richmond Park and then to the cafe there, they both wanted to come with me.

Jan 6th: Don’t believe everything your children say – one of them let me down!  There is a house in Richmond Park which has opened some of its rooms as a cafe.  There are tables and chairs in its gardens and it’s a lovely place to have a cup of coffee and a sandwich or cake.

Jan 7th: Today was the day I should have gone back to work.  I did the right thing in resigning.  I was following the wrong path and I’m glad I had the courage to take action.

Learning something every day seems like a tall order but it creates an awareness of yourself and the world around you.

What did you learn today?

 

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What I’ve learnt so far

  1. I’m not sure if it’s something I learnt or just something that I re-realised, but I remembered that I’m actually quite good at writing and it made me wonder if I should think about changing my career direction slightly to take that into consideration. A friend asked me to look at a letter a colleague had written which she was unhappy with and I came up with quite a few points which she said were what she had thought but worded better. A few weeks ago I wrote something for a charity I volunteer for and got a lot of positive comments. I really enjoy writing my blog and re-read it from the start a few days ago and was quite pleased with it.

    • seaswift says:

      I really enjoy your style of writing and I like the way you tell the story of your life. You should pursue any writing opportunities that you find. Good luck.

  2. wcdesigns says:

    I really like the whole idea of learning something new everyday. Because a lot of times without ever realizing it you learn new things constantly if your open to them. Your bolg has inspired me to be more aware. Something I learned this was that they make specific machine embroidery bobbin thread for a reason. It works better and makes your embroidery designs look crisp and smooth.

Leave a Reply

