January’s learning is nearly done

Bournemouth

Bournemouth

Here’s a round-up of another busy week of learning.

Jan 22nd: It’s important to keep a journal because memory is unreliable.  Today I was reading what I’d written last summer and it brought back memories of things I would otherwise have forgotten.  A journal transports you back in time.

Jan 23rd: I learnt how to set in a sleeve by stitching two lines of easing, gently gathering, painstakingly pinning, carefully basting, and finally machine sewing.

Jan 24th: I refreshed my knowledge of the English language, courtesy of William Strunk’s The Elements of Style, a useful reference guide.

Jan 25th: Cars might be convenient but there is something magical about train journeys: relaxing as you are transported through the countryside, stopping briefly in places you’d forgotten about, or never visited, or not even heard of.

Jan 26th: Bournemouth (Dorset, UK) is as beautiful as I remember it: sandy beach, cliff top walks, the chines.  Even the sun couldn’t stay away this weekend.

Jan 27th: Having a change of scene for the weekend makes time slow down and allows you to look at life from a fresh perspective.

Jan 28th: According to Tim Ferriss, author of The Four Hour Chef, you can learn two years’ worth of cookery skills and techniques in a mere four hours.  The process can be applied to almost anything you want to learn.  We commonly consider that learning something new is going to take a long time.  Perhaps it only takes so long because that’s what we expect.  If we believe we can grasp it quickly, maybe this will become a self-fulfilling prophecy.

What have you learnt quickly?

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to January’s learning is nearly done

  1. tartanpants says:

    Love this post! When I was studying German, I did it as a crash course. It was done over the course of one school year, instead of the usual 4 – it was very intensive, I got a fantastic almost 100% result in the exam! It was done as a crash course so that I would have the right number of academic subject grades to get me into university. Trouble is, I forgot it almost as quickly as I learned it because I didn’t continue to use it 😦

Leave a Reply

