Dilemma

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERAOn Saturday, a package arrived for me.  I wasn’t expecting anything and assumed I had ordered something in error from my holding basket on Amazon.  But no!  I had entered a Waterstones’ draw to win an advance copy of Life after Life by Kate Atkinson and, guess what, I’d won.  How exciting was that?!

The drawback: I had to read and review it by 14th March, so basically I had four days to read a 477 page book.  It said I should post my review on or shortly after that date.  Now, I hate to miss a deadline so I thought I would read as much as I could and then write the review before I’d finished it – after all, you never give away the end of a novel.  Then I could savour the remainder of the story at my leisure.

This morning, Kate Atkinson was on breakfast TV talking about the novel and something she said made me feel that it deserves to be finished before being reviewed.  It’s a fantastic book and I want to do it justice.  But there is that deadline…

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Book ends and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

