The power of now

SDC13134In an attempt to become more mindful, I’m reading The Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle.  It’s made me realise how much of my time is spent letting past events affect my present well-being or playing through various scenarios that may happen in the future, leading to anxious thoughts.  Neither of these is beneficial.

The important thing is to concentrate on the NOW – it is the only time we have.  If we’re OK now, then everything is fine, because the past and the future are only happening in our heads.

This is a difficult concept for me to grasp but it’s starting to make sense.  I think that’s why I enjoy dancing so much: it happens in the NOW.  I focus on interpreting the music and following my partner’s lead.  There’s no time to worry about the past or feel anxious about the future: my full attention is on what’s happening in the present.

What do you think about this?

This entry was posted in Life thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The power of now

  1. I like his message, about living in the ‘now’. I try to live by it, but it’s easier said than done. My friend is reading the book, I’m not sure that I will. Not out of disrespect or snobbery, I just find it hard to let go enough to truly believe in enlightenment as such. Perhaps I’m too cynical – studying a science degree they drill that into you! I respect spirituality though, and maybe one day I will be able to let go enough to try…
    I’m glad you’re enjoying the book 🙂

    • seaswift says:

      I completely agree with what you say. Whilst living in the now seems the sensible thing to do, it goes against the way we are brought up and it is very difficult to stop the mind from going over the past and anticipating the future.

  2. Gwen says:

    I read the book and at first I thought I would never be able to achieve enlightenment and felt somewhat put off by that. But as I kept reading, I realized that the book had so many levels to it. I realized that even if I couldn’t achieve enlightenment, I could still learn to live in the present and stop spending so much time beating myself up about the past and worrying about the future.

    It has made a positive effect on my life but is a work in process every day. Keep at it!, Here are my thoughts on the book: http://revitalizingme.wordpress.com/2013/04/04/reading-the-power-of-now/ if you want to read them. 🙂

    • seaswift says:

      I think it’s really difficult to live in the moment. We are brought up to think about the past and the future. I really enjoyed reading your thoughts on the book.

      • Gwen says:

        Thank you, it really takes a conscious effort for me to do it. I find that it happens easier when I am in nature, the smells and sights make you appreciate the moment. As for the rest of the time, if I notice myself obsessing about something in the past or future, I try really hard to refocus. But sometimes I don’t notice. It’s a work in process. Don’t give up.

Leave a Reply

