Wait no more

SDC13134When I was younger, I sometimes felt that I was waiting for my life to begin.  There would be a particular moment when all the stars aligned, everything would fall into place and my life proper, the life I saw myself living, would truly commence.

Recently, I saw a question asking “Do you feel like you’re waiting for your real life to begin?”  I thought about this and realised that I’m not; I’m living my real life now with all its challenges and idiosyncrasies, moments of despair, and times of joy and laughter.

One of the benefits of getting older is that I seem to be more realistic and accepting of what life slings at me.  Rather than restlessly yearning for a future ideal, I accept the imperfect present and get on with it.

I accept that, at the moment, I have neither the time nor indeed the inclination to listen to serious radio, follow a housework schedule that effortlessly results in a spotless house, land the perfect, fantastically paid and immensely rewarding job, and so on.

I am, however, pursuing whatever captures my imagination, opening myself up to new experiences and opportunities, finding pleasure in the simple things.  I no longer crave the perfect future when I can live the ideal life that I used to picture for myself but I enjoy living in the messy present.

And I feel a lot better for it.

This is my real life – the one that is taking place right this minute and I’m determined not to waste it either dwelling on the past or imagining a future.

Life is for living – now.

 

 

This entry was posted in Life thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wait no more

  1. swedenole13 says:

    Well said! I totally agree.

  2. nachergryl says:

    I can totally relate!! I think “this” is what we are supposed to be doing right now…….meant to be, I’m a believer in meant to be’s.

  3. Gwen says:

    The present is messy, but it’s all we’ve got 🙂

  4. Yes, “Be here now!”

    It’s the only life we have so enjoy every moment! 😉

  5. Nilufar says:

    Loved reading this. On some days I’m totally in the moment and on others I’m far away in a place that gives me much less pleasure, and yet I have to remind myself to get out of there. The balance is shifting each day – to me being more in the present. Yay!

    • seaswift says:

      Thank you. It’s not always easy. Have a look at viewfromafridge.wordpress.com. It’s an honest, yet witty look at life including its more challenging moments. I’ve only just discovered it.

Leave a Reply

